DeFi Decentralized Finance
0 (0)

DeFi, or Decentralized Finance, stands for the combination of traditional financial products and financial concepts, as they are known from the banking sector, in connection with blockchain technology. The main focus is on transferring well-known principles into the world of cryptocurrencies and their distributed ledger technology. DeFi therefore uses a wide range of instruments, such as currency exchange, bonds and loans.

What exactly is DeFi (Decentralized Finance)?

The potential of this division is very promising, which has caused a small boom in applications in the DeFi sector in 2019. In 2020, this has strengthened once again and it is expected to continue.
The term DeFi does not always mean only the one already described, which covers all transactions (in the DLT area) with a monetary reference. Therefore, the term is more synonymous with open finance. In the narrower sense, however, the above-mentioned use cases are referred to.

But why do you want to connect traditional finance with blockchain? At the beginning of Bitcoin in 2008, it was intended to offer the financial world a completely new alternative. Today, about 12 years later, Bitcoin and other decentralized digital currencies have their place in global competition when it comes to transactions. The far-reaching adaptation has not yet taken place, but that could change with DeFi. Many concepts in the field of banking have been successfully applied for many centuries. In this area, for example, there are many legitimate financial products, such as borrowing to invest or bridging short-term payment difficulties.
These don’t need to be fundamentally changed and DeFi comes into play right here.

These concepts are to be gradually integrated into the blockchain sector and further expanded with corresponding products. In the future, users will be able to benefit from the best of both sides, which also makes the long-term investment in cryptocurrencies interesting. The crypto-coins must therefore gain in profit in the future, this should be achieved by the use of DeFi.

So-called “smart contracts” are also to be used. This is a blockchain-based technology, in the smart contracts there is a contractual arrangement that is written down as code.
This follows a conditional logic, i.e. certain conditions are met, then a certain contractual clause automatically enters into force. As usual, therefore, no third instance is required, because the technology itself ensures compliance with the contract. This technology is expected to facilitate business operations and also increase contract security. This is an important point in the DeFi area for working and secure transactions.

What are the types and possibilities of DeFi?

There are different applications in the decentralised financial sector. A large part of the users appreciate the opportunity to make money with DeFi applications. Every application in the DeFi sector finds its counterpart in the traditional financial sector.

Lending – The decentralized credit market

The largest DeFi protocols include Compound or MakerDAO, and they have one thing in common: the main use case is built on lending and borrowing, german borrowing and lending. In this case, tokens/coins are lent, for which the lender receives interest in return, which is exactly the same as in the traditional financial sector. However, no bank is required for this, because the network itself handles all transactions due to the decentralized credit protocol. The own tokens are made available to other participants, in return there is interest on the borrowed tokens. A simple settlement for “borrowers” and “lenders” via Decentralized Finance.

The Staking – Mining Alternative as a Source of Revenue

The so-called “mining” has become very complex. High electricity costs and expensive hardware are needed for bitcoin mining today. But a good and effective source of income is “staking”. When staking, you make your cryptocurrency available to the network. In contrast to lending, no loan is granted, the network is only secured by the deposit of the respective cryptocurrency. In return, there are interest income for the stakers, which are paid out in the respective cryptocurrency. You can see how high the respective Staking Reward (interest) is on your own websites.

Das Yield Farming

When users exchange tokens for each other, it only works if other users have previously provided this liquidity. Users are rewarded with some of the transaction fees. At Yield Farming, the goal is to get the maximum return.

Das Liquidity Mining

Tokens are distributed to users of a specific Defi application. These tokens entitle users at a later date to share in the revenue. With the tokens you participate in a project, so to speak, the user receives a small share in a company for the use of the application.

Derivatives in the DeFi sector

As in the traditional financial sector, there are also financial derivatives in the DeFi sector. This is especially interesting for those users who also trade with traditional options, futures or other financial products. This is also possible with Decentralized Finance in a decentralized market environment. In principle, all underlyingassets such as gold or bitcoin can be mapped by derivatives in the DeFi sector. This opens up a whole new world for all users of Decentralized Finance, which previously existed only in the traditional sense.

Decentralized exchanges – crypto-trading without middleman

Decentralized exchanges never have access to traders’ assets. This is not the case with traditional stock exchanges, because there is a central authority here. This does not exist on decentralized exchanges and therefore no central authority can be hacked. Conversely, this means that assets on decentralized exchanges are particularly safe and well-kept. Registration on decentralized exchanges usually works very quickly and digital assets can be traded immediately afterwards.

Payments in the DeFi sector

DeFi applications already exist for payment processing in the decentralized area. On most blockchains, such as Those of Ethereum or Bitcoin, transactions cannot be processed very quickly. In addition, these can only be scaled to a limited extent, which is why alternatives are being sought. These alternatives include so-called “second-layer solutions”, here we are talking about additional payment infrastructures. To imagine this figuratively, one can say that these are”put on the actual blockchain, so to speak. With this approach, “Off Chain” is able to handle more transactions much faster. The “Bitcoin Lightning Network” is probably one of the most well-known.

Opportunities and Risks of DeFi

The benefits of DeFi

  • The traditional financial sector is exclusive and people without a bank account are virtually excluded. Decentralized Finance does not have a restriction of access.
  • There are no regulatory restrictions and there are no opening hours as in the traditional financial sector. Trading with assets is possible seven days a week.
  • One of the biggest advantages is the particularly high level of privacy protection. No data is processed by third parties, while at the same time providing high transparency, through transactions that are publicly available.
  • Cost-intensive financial intermediaries are eliminated and financial services costs are significantly reduced. The degree of automation enables fast processing.
  • This market is still relatively new and is only just beginning. Especially in the DeFi sector, there are therefore particularly high chances of return.

The disadvantages and risks

  • Decentralized Finance is still in its infancy. There is almost no experience to look back on and there are no long-term observations yet on how this sector will develop over a long period of time. The potentially high returns therefore represent a high risk at the same time.
  • Smart contracts can be flawed and, in the worst case, vulnerable to hacker attacks. When it comes to technical solutions, they are currently immature and partly unfriendly to the user.
  • Self-responsibility has its advantages, but at the same time this can also be a disadvantage. Each user is responsible for the custody of his or her own tokens, there is no bank or other institution that is in the event of the tokens being lost.
  • At present, there is still a lack of regulation in this area. There is no consumer protection and this can be detrimental to legal certainty in decentralised transactions. Pure speculation as well as bubble formation in certain assets can spread particularly quickly in this case.

Conclusion

Especially in the decentralized credit sector, very high returns can usually be achieved with “lending”. Thus, if tokens are deposited and lent at the same time, users of this system have been able to generate high returns in the past. But the market is still very immature and therefore the following applies: only invest as much as one is willing to lose. Highly recommended (as in the traditional financial sector), a wide spread of assets is best not to put everything on a company or product.

The speculative method of liquidity mining and yield farming has been particularly popular lately. The DeFi sector is currently very complex and difficult for “normal users” to assess. However, you shouldn’t just tie your coins to a wallet, use them via DeFi applications and get interest if necessary makes more sense. In the future, all these possibilities and channels will most likely establish a connection between the traditional financial and blockchain worlds.


Was this article helpful? Rate:

User Rating
[Total: 84   Average: 4.8/5]

DeFi Decentralized Finance
4.8 (84)

DeFi, oder auch Decentralized Finance, steht für die Verbindung von klassischen Finanzprodukten und Finanzkonzepten, wie man sie aus dem Bankenwesen kennt, in Verbindung mit der Blockchain-Technologie. Das Hauptaugenmerk liegt darauf, altbekannte Prinzipien in die Welt der Kryptowährungen und deren Distributed Ledger Technologie zu übertragen. Mit DeFi wird deshalb auf verschiedenste Instrumente wie den Währungstausch, auf Anleihen und Darlehen zurückgegriffen.

DeFi

Was genau ist DeFi (Decentralized Finance)?

Das Potential dieser Sparte ist sehr vielversprechend, das hat 2019 für einen kleinen Boom bei Applikationen im DeFi-Sektor gesorgt. Im Jahr 2020 hat sich dieser nochmals verstärkt und es wird davon ausgegangen, dass dieser auch weiterhin anhält.
Der Begriff DeFi bedeutet nicht immer nur das bereits beschriebene, dieser erfasst nämlich alle Transaktionen (im DLT-Bereich) mit monetärem Bezug. Daher ist der Begriff eher synonym mit Open Finance. Im engeren Sinne werden jedoch die oben genannten Anwendungsfälle damit bezeichnet.

Doch weshalb möchte man das klassische Finanzwesen mit der Blockchain verbinden? Zu Beginn des Bitcoins im Jahr 2008, war dieser dafür gedacht, der Finanzwelt eine völlig neue Alternative zu bieten. Heute rund 12 Jahre später, haben Bitcoin und andere dezentrale Digitalwährungen ihren festen Platz im globalen Wettbewerb wenn es um Transaktionen geht. Die weitreichende Adaption hat bisher allerdings noch nicht stattgefunden, genau das könnte sich mit DeFi aber ändern. Denn viele Konzepte im Bereich des Banking finden seit vielen Jahrhunderten eine erfolgreiche Anwendung. So gibt es in diesem Bereich viele legitime Finanzprodukte wie zum Beispiel das Aufnehmen von Krediten, um zu investieren oder um kurzfristige Zahlungsschwierigkeiten zu überbrücken.
Diese müssen nicht grundlegend geändert werden und DeFi kommt genau hier ins Spiel.

Diese Konzepte sollen nämlich nach und nach in den Blockchain-Bereich integriert und mit entsprechenden Produkten weiter ausgebaut werden. So können Nutzer künftig vom Besten aus beiden Seiten profitieren, das macht zugleich die langfristige Anlage in Kryptowährungen interessant. Die Krypto-Coins müssen also in Zukunft an Nutzen gewinnen, das soll durch den Einsatz von DeFi gelingen.

Hierbei sollen auch sogenannte „Smart Contracts“ also smarte Verträge zum Einsatz kommen. Es handelt sich hierbei um eine Blockchain-basierte-Technologie, in den Smart Contracts gibt es eine vertragliche Regelung die als Code aufgeschrieben wird.
Dieser folgt einer konditionalen Logik, werden also bestimmte Voraussetzungen erfüllt, dann tritt eine bestimmte Vertragsklausel automatisch in Kraft. Es wird deshalb wie normalerweise üblich keine dritte Instanz benötigt, denn die Technologie selbst sorgt für die Einhaltung des Vertrags. Von dieser Technologie wird sich eine Erleichterung der Geschäftsvorgänge erhofft und zudem eine höhere Vertragssicherheit. Das stellt einen wichtigen Punkt im DeFi-Bereich für funktionierende und sichere Transaktionen dar.

Welche Arten und Möglichkeiten von DeFi gibt es?

Im dezentralen Finanzsektor gibt es unterschiedliche Anwendungen. Ein großer Teil der Nutzer schätzt die Möglichkeit, mit DeFi-Anwendungen Geld zu verdienen. Jede Anwendung im DeFi-Sektor findet ihr Pendant im klassischen Finanzsektor.

Defi Lending

Das Lending – Der dezentrale Kreditmarkt

Zu den größten DeFi-Protokollen zählen Compound oder MakerDAO und diese haben eines gemeinsam: der Haupt-Anwendungsfall ist auf dem Lending und Borrowing aufgebaut, zu deutsch Leihen und Verleihen. Es werden in diesem Fall Token/Coins verliehen, für die der Verleiher im Gegenzug Zinsen bekommt, also ganz wie im klassischen Finanzsektor auch. Hierfür wird aber keine Bank benötigt, denn das Netzwerk selbst, wickelt aufgrund des dezentralen Kreditprotokolls alle Geschäfte ab. Die eigenen Token werden für andere Teilnehmer zur Verfügung gestellt, im Gegenzug gibt es Zinsen auf die ausgeliehenen Token. Eine einfache Abwicklung für „Kreditnehmer“ und „Kreditgeber“ über Decentralized Finance.

defi staking

Das Staking – Mining-Alternative als Einnahmequelle

Das sogenannte „Mining“ ist mittlerweile sehr aufwändig geworden. Hohe Stromkosten und teure Hardware wird für das Bitcoin-Mining heutzutage benötigt. Doch eine ebenso gute und effektive Einnahmequelle stellt das „Staking“ dar. Beim Staking stellt man seine Kryptowährung dem Netzwerk zur Verfügung. Im Gegensatz zum Lending wird also kein Kredit vergeben, das Netzwerk wird lediglich durch die Hinterlegung der jeweiligen Kryptowährung abgesichert. Als Gegenleistung dafür, gibt es für die Staker Zinserträge, die in der jeweiligen Kryptowährung ausgezahlt werden. Wie hoch der jeweilige Staking Reward (Zins) ausfällt, kann man auf eigenen Webseiten einsehen.

defi yield farming

Das Yield Farming

Wenn Nutzer Token gegeneinander tauschen, funktioniert das nur, wenn andere Nutzer diese Liquidität zuvor bereitgestellt haben. Nutzer werden mit einem gewissen Teil der Transaktionsgebühren belohnt. Bei Yield Farming ist das Ziel das Maximum an Rendite herauszuholen.

defi liquidity mining

Das Liquidity Mining

Hierbei werden für Nutzer einer bestimmten Defi Applikation Token verteilt. Diese Token berechtigen die Nutzer zu einem späteren Zeitpunkt, zu Anteilen an den Einnahmen. Mit den Token nimmt man sozusagen an einem Projekt teil, der Nutzer erhält einen kleinen Anteil an einem Unternehmen für die Nutzung der Applikation.

defi derivates bonds

Derivate im DeFi-Sektor

Wie im klassischen Finanzsektor, gibt es auch im DeFi-Sektor Finanzderivate. Das ist besonders für jene Nutzer interessant, die auch mit herkömmlichen Optionen, Futures oder anderen Finanzprodukten handeln. Das ist mit Decentralized Finance auch in einer dezentralen Marktumgebung möglich. Im Prinzip können alle Basiswerte wie Gold oder Bitcoin, durch Derivate im DeFi-Sektor abgebildet werden. Somit öffnet sich für alle Nutzer der Decentralized Finance eine ganz neue Welt, die es so vorher nur im traditionellen Sinne gab.

defi virtual stock market

Dezentrale Börsen – Krypto-Handel ohne Mittelsmann

Dezentrale Börsen haben niemals Zugriff auf Vermögenswerte der Trader. Das ist bei traditionellen Börsen nicht so, denn hier gibt es eine zentrale Instanz. Auf dezentralen Börsen gibt es das nicht und somit kann keine zentrale Instanz gehackt werden. Im Umkehrschluss bedeutet das, dass Guthaben auf dezentralen Börsen besonders sicher und gut aufgehoben sind. Die Anmeldung auf dezentralen Börsen funktioniert meist sehr schnell und digitale Assets können gleich danach gehandelt werden.

defi payment

Payments im DeFi-Sektor

Für die Zahlungsabwicklung im dezentralen Bereich gibt es bereits DeFi-Anwendungen. Auf den meisten Blockchains wie die von Ethereum oder Bitcoin, können Transaktionen nicht besonders schnell abgewickelt werden. Darüber hinaus können diese nur begrenzt skaliert werden, aus diesem Grund wird nach Alternativen gesucht. Zu diesen Alternativen zählen unter anderem sogenannte „Second-Layer-Lösungen“, hier ist die Rede von zusätzlichen Zahlungsinfrastrukturen. Um sich das bildlich vorzustellen kann man sagen, dass diese sozusagen auf die eigentliche Blockchain „draufgesetzt“ werden. Mit diesem Vorgehen ist es „Off Chain“ möglich, mehr Transaktionen viel schneller abzuwickeln. Zu den bekanntesten dürfte das „Bitcoin Lightning Network“ gehören.

Chancen und Risiken von DeFi

Die Vorteile von DeFi

  • Der traditionelle Finanzsektor ist exklusiv und Menschen ohne Bankkonto werden praktisch ausgeschlossen. Eine Zugangsbeschränkung gibt es bei Decentralized Finance nicht.
  • Es gibt keine regulatorischen Beschränkungen und Öffnungszeiten wie im traditionellen Finanzsektor gibt es nicht. Das Handeln mit Assets ist sieben Tage die Woche möglich.
  • Einer der größten Vorteile ist der besonders hohe Schutz der Privatsphäre. Es werden keinerlei Daten durch Dritte verarbeitet, bei gleichzeitig hoher Transparenz, durch Transaktionen die öffentlich einsehbar sind.
  • Kostenintensive Finanzintermediäre fallen weg und somit werden Kosten für Finanzdienstleistungen deutlich gesenkt. Der Automatisierungsgrad ermöglicht eine schnelle Abwicklung.
  • Dieser Markt ist noch relativ neu und steht gerade erst am Anfang. Gerade im DeFi-Sektor gibt es daher besonders hohe Rendite-Chancen.

Die Nachteile und Risiken

  • Decentralized Finance befindet noch ganz am Anfang in seiner Entwicklung. Es kann auf noch fast keine Erfahrungswerte zurückgeblickt werden und es gibt noch keine Langzeitbeobachtungen wie sich dieser Sektor über lange Zeit entwickelt. Die möglicherweise hohen Renditen bedeuten also zugleich ein hohes Risiko.
  • Smart Contracts können fehlerhaft sein und sind im schlimmsten Fall anfällig für Hackerangriffe. Wenn es um technische Lösungen geht, sind diese zur Zeit noch unausgereift und teilweise bedienerunfreundlich.
  • Eigenverantwortung hat zwar seine Vorteile, doch dies kann gleichzeitig auch ein Nachteil sein. Jeder Nutzer ist für die Verwahrung seiner Token selbst zuständig, es gibt keine Bank oder eine andere Institution, die im Falle des abhandenkommen der Token geradesteht.
  • Gegenwärtig herrscht noch eine mangelnde Regulierung in diesem Bereich. Es gibt keinen Verbraucherschutz und das kann sich zum Nachteil der Rechtssicherheit bei dezentralen Geschäften auswirken. Reine Spekulation sowie Blasenbildung bei gewissen Assets, kann sich in diesem Fall besonders schnell ausbreiten.

Fazit

Gerade im dezentralen Kreditsektor, lassen sich mit dem „Lending“ meist sehr hohe Renditen erzielen. Werden also Token hinterlegt und gleichzeitig verliehen, so konnten Nutzer dieses Systems in der Vergangenheit hohe Renditen einfahren. Doch der Markt ist noch sehr unausgereift und deshalb gilt: Nur so viel investieren, wie man auch bereit ist zu verlieren. Sehr empfehlenswert (wie im klassischen Finanzsektor auch), ist eine breite Streuung der Assets, am besten nicht alles auf ein Unternehmen oder Produkt setzen.

Besonders beliebt war in letzter Zeit die Spekulationsmethode des Liquidity Mining und Yield Farming. Der DeFi-Sektor ist aktuell noch sehr Komplex und für „Normalnutzer“ schwer einzuschätzen. Dennoch sollte man seine Coins nicht einfach an ein Wallet binden, sie über DeFi-Anwendungen einzusetzen und dafür gegebenenfalls Zinsen zu erhalten macht mehr Sinn. In Zukunft werden all diese Möglichkeiten und Kanäle, sehr wahrscheinlich eine Verbindung zwischen der traditionellen Finanz- und der Blockchain-Welt herstellen.


War dieser Artikel hilfreich? Bewerten Sie:

User Rating